The Different Phases Of Shradh Rituals

The Different Phases Of Shradh

Lord Vishnu is one of the most important Hindu Gods to many devotees across the world. He is a part of the Trimurti of Hindu Gods along with Shiva and Brahma. While Brahma is known as the Creator and Shiva as the Destroyer; Vishnu is the Preserver of our Universe.
Putrada Ekadashi is an important festival dedicated to the worship of Lord Vishnu. This festival is celebrated during the months of Shravan and Pausha. It is celebrated during the 11th day of the Shukla phase of the Moon during Shravan Maas. This year, Shravan Putrada Ekadashi falls on the 26th of August. Let’s look at some facts about the true importance of Shravan Putrada Ekadashi.

The 3 Phases Of Shradh

Agnoukarann – This is the first phase of the Shraddha rituals in which ancestors are worshipped by offering Samidha (a wooden stick) and Pinda (a rice ball) to the sacrificial fire.

Pindadaan –The process for Pindadaan is mentioned in the holy scripts of Yajurveda, Bramhane, Shrout and Gruhya sutra. The ritual of Pindadaan was put into practice during the period of Guhya sutra.

 Brahman Bhoj –  The offering of foods to Brahmins are During the post Gruhya sutra and Shruti-Smruti period, offering food to priests (Brahmins) was considered mandatory and became an important part of the ritual of Shraddha.

History Of Brahman Bhoj During Shradh

The original concept of performing the ritual of Shraddha was concieved by Sage Atri, the son of DeityBrahma. Sage Atri narrated the ritual of Shraddha as laid down by Deity Brahma to Nimi from his lineage. This established ritual has continued even today. Manu was the first one to perform the ritual of Shraddha. Hence he is called the God of Shraddha. After Lord Rama, Sita and Lakshman left for their stay in forest, Bharat met them in the forest and apprised them about the death of their father. The epic Ramayana mentions that Shriramlater performed the ritual of Shraddha for His deceased father at an appropriate time.

Meaning Of Shradh

The term ‘Shraddha’ has originated from ‘Shraddhaa’ (faith). It is impossible to repay the various favors, which our deceased forefathers have done for us. The ritual performed for them with complete faith is known as Shraddha. The offerings which are made to the brahmins with the intention being received by the deceased ancestors and the vivid set of rituals associated with it is called the ceremony of Shraddha. During the holy time of Pitru Paksha in the Bhadrapada Maas,Shraddha is particularly important. Shradha is also known as Shraddhattva Pinda, Pitru Puja (ritualistic worship of deceased ancestors), Pitru Yagna (sacrificial fires performed for deceased ancestors)

Click HERE To Offer Brahman Bhoj At The Holiest Locations Of Hinduism For Shradha Paksha 2017